Di Catatan Takodok

Sekerat Cerita Penanda

Hear, Hear

What Roland Said…

I don’t have much faith in anything. Not even in myself.

I am afraid of the pain of dying. I have been wounded before, once so badly that it was feared I would not survive. I can recall the agony of it, and I don’t wish to endure it again. But I feared more the death of others. I did not want to lose them, and I worried about them while they were alive. Sometimes, I think that I concerned myself so much with the possibility of their loss that I never truly took pleasure in the fact of their existence.

.. nothing comes without cost. There is a price to be paid for everything, and it is a good idea to find out that price before you make the agreement.

.

What The Crooked Man said…

As a child you saw things only in black and white, good and bad, what gave you pleasure and what brought you pain. Now you see everything in shades of grey.

Regrets have clouded your memory, and now you seek to blame me for your own weakness?! Mind your tongue old man.

.. life was filled with great grief as well as great happiness, with suffering and regret as well as triumphs and contentment.

.

And what the author said…

I think the act of reading imbues the reader with a sensitivity toward the outside world that people who don’t read can sometimes lack. I know it seems like a contradiction in terms; after all, reading is such a solitary, internalizing act that it appears to represent a disengagement from day-to-day life. But reading, and particularly the reading of fiction, encourages us to view the world in the new and challenging ways. I have always believed that fiction acts as a prism, taking the reality of our existence and breaking it down into its constituent parts, allowing us to see it in a completely different form. It allows us to inhabit the consciousness of another, which is a precursor to empathy, and empathy is, for me, one of the marks of a decent human being.

.

The Book Of Lost Things,

For in every adult dwells the child that was, and in every child lies the adult that will be

2 comments on “Hear, Hear

  1. Ita Casillas
    July 5, 2011

    “.. There is a price to be paid for everything, and it is a good idea to find out that price before you make the agreement.”

    >>that’s way there’s karma which must be paid in every feat

  2. evillya
    July 5, 2011

    *jleb*

    *tepuk bahu Roland*

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2011 by in D Private and tagged , .
